Home

So far, Beloved and I have been the only Americans in the room when we’ve met up with people. Everyone else is Scottish or English. There several observations I want to make about this situation.

First: people drop their consonants and in a noisy room (no carpets most everywhere) this means I’m working hard to hear the words.

Second: I tend to mimic the speech patters of my conversation partners. This means that last night, walking home from a dinner out, I was all scottish lilt in my voice. I think English slang will start working its way into my vocabulary soon.

Third: Yes, the rest of the world is very interested in who wins US Elections. My informal poll currently favors the incumbent. At 100%. The rest of the world is also very worried about us. See this and this….

Fourth:  We’ll be asleep when the US starts calling the returns. There is a Democratic party we could go to ($30 euro each so we’re reluctant to sign up) that completely plans to watch the TV’s all night long. We’re enjoying a new late night life but not that late. 8 p.m. Tuesday night on the East Coast = 2 a.m. our time. So, we’ll wake up to the news which will be odd. Toto, I don’t think we’re in Kansas any longer” 

Fifth: Beloved and I may have a very quiet Thanksgiving this year unless we find some more Americans. The Ex-Pat women I was visiting with last night mentioned that there are not a lot of Americans in Munich right now. Or at least in the Ex-pat community. There used to be more but they were here when a number of business were arriving and setting up branch offices. After getting it all going, they all hired excellent English-speaking Munich people and went back home. That and the economy.

So I’m becoming very conscious that I’m representing and also inheriting a lot of assumptions about what it means to be an American. For example, we saw several “big” apartments. When we looked at a few parking spots that went with the apartment we were told, “none of those big American cars” would fit.( No problem for us, we don’t have a car.)  I think there’s a fair amount of truth in this assumption about us in general but Beloved and I are trying to take up less space and to pay attention to what is going on around me. For example, I’ve got some interesting insights on the upcoming election for Scotland to succeed from the United Kingdom….

Leave a Reply

