Home

Jake The Cat is coming to Germany with us. He’s actually a pretty good traveler. When I was in seminary, I used to put him in the car with me when I made Christmas runs to Portland. After a day of hiding under the bed, he used to go exploring the new environment and always seemed much more energized afterwards.

But Jake is getting on in years. I estimate him to be about 12-14 years old which I guess is kind of getting up there in kitty-years but he could go another 5 just fine. I’m a little worried about this for him. I’d like for him to go move in with my daughters but elder already has two young cats in a one bedroom apartment and younger already lives with her father’s cats. So, its time for jake to learn how to miau. 

Getting Jake ready to go means paperwork. And microchips and vaccinations and certifications. Which at the moment I find a bit daunting.  The German Mission lays it all out here, in case you are interested…  In theory, the relocation service is supposed to be able to help us with this but we’re waiting on signed contracts to get this started (Did I mention that August is a very popular time to go on vacation in Europe?). Meanwhile, I’m about to board Jake with the vet due to an upcoming Portland run so why not just get this process started?  (Anitra stares at the form)

Also on the list of things I didn’t know about:  companies that specialize in pet relocation. They do the paperwork, come and pick up your pet from your house or vet, put the kitty on a plane, pick the kitty back up from the airport and deliver to your door.  Also, some of these services will charter a jet for fido or kitty. I have no idea how Jake is going to get across the water but I do know I need to get all those vaccinations up to date.

Cats don’t like change without their consent. – Roger Caras

A catless writer is almost inconceivable. It’s a perverse taste, really, since it would be easier to write with a herd of buffalo in the room than even one cat; they make nests in the notes and bite the end of the pen and walk on the typewriter keys.  ~Barbara Holland

Bonus: gratuitously-cute-cat-meme-photo

Leave a comment